Ketchup (part II).

​So continuing the previous month of happenings in our part of the world.

Random (narrow) boat

When I came up here from Spain eighteen or so months ago to view some boats, one I looked at was a tjalk (pron. cha-look, depending on who you talk to, other days it is chalk), called Ella. When I stepped on board there was a real feeling of “coming home”, she is really nothing special but I could see the potential and felt that this is the one. (Bear in mind that at the time we were still looking for steel boats), other than being introduced to Ella, the trip was a bit of a waste as the offer we made on Ella was refused point blank and good thing too as the offer would have left us with next to nothing, and there are the additional hidden charges that are always incurred. Any hoo, in February I was nonchalantly walking around the basin when I saw her again, weirdly, she was being craned out of the water by another company BUT, someone from H2O was there to oversee, I didn’t think anything of it, just took some photos as we deleted all the others I’d taken and excitedly messaged Vee (at the time in the UK) that that boat is here. Then after a while she disappeared again (Ella, not Vanessa). (All this does have a point, I think???). And then, again last week she appeared “on the hard” at H2O, where it seems she’s going to be for a while. It seems that the owner (who turned down our offer), has got into a bit of financial bother with H2O, it’s a long story and I cannot make head or tale of truth from rumour, in a nutshell, Ella started sinking, she was pulled out in February for a check up, (it sounds like the sea-cock was left open), H2O over saw her being pulled out to make sure that she wasn’t put on the back of a flat bed and carted off, (it really is a big sum owed). H2O added to the already insomnia inducing bill with an additional one that tipped the owner into despair and has decided to walk away as after paying the (criminal) bill and various additions, he’d be lucky to get anything from the sale. Ella, is actually (kind’ve) in our reach at this very moment (so long as it involves a quick sale of Adventurer), and this has caused many debates and chats and ums and ahs between Vee and I, but the logistics of it all are mind-boggling and really, we decided we can’t be arsed, one reason is that we have a philosophy that revolves around if it’s not broken, don’t fix it, ie, be happy with what you have. Adventurer is lovely and perfect for us at the moment, and let’s remember that we haven’t even been out on a proper cruise with her yet. Also, and please excuse a little woo woo new age hippy shit: the feeling I had stepping on board? if not now, then later.I

Ella

When I was working on the Johanna in the dry dock, Andy asked if we had any nightingales singing up where we’re moored as there are several around the basin singing to their hearts content. At the time there weren’t, and I was gutted as I haven’t heard one since living at Bepe’s in Spain, more than seven years ago, but then a couple of weeks later one decided to take up residence seemingly within a few metres of the boat, for the first few nights it was a pleasure to listen to, and then once the novelty had worn off it got a tad annoying, until I was just wishing it would bugger off as s/he was keeping me awake at night. There was one occasion working on the windows when the house was empty so I cranked up the volume on the stereo, there was a nightingale in the garden, singing away but when ZZ Top started playing (I think it was Sharp Dressed Man), this nightingale went into overdrive and (I’m sure), joined in with the music!

Huge hotel barge.

The water tank has been empty for six months now, (the house we’re looking after has it’s own water closed off for the winter, so we can’t fill up from there). It’s not a problem, whenever one of us walks or works in the basin we take a couple of empty water bottles and fill up. It is amazing though how life habits still take over, even after this amount of time we still go to turn a tap on when cleaning our teeth or whatever. The other effect is that the Adventurer has been listing an itsy-bitsy amount because of the missing weight on one side. That took some getting used to also, I assured Vee it was nothing to do with the beer (cue sardonic smile), but wonder what’ll happen once the water tank is full again? We’ll soon find out as we believe JP and Ilse are back on the second of May.

Random boats II

The Adventurer came with five plant troughs included, I am pretty certain that they were used for pretty flowers and other non-edibles, with the price of groceries here in France (oh ffs, here he goes again), we have four cherry tomato plants and two chilli plants ready to put in them now, plus some more seedlings to add once they are big enough. While we’re here, can I just say, ninety cents for a single white asparagus stalk! This is the last time I say anything about the French prices (I think), we are acclimatising to the prices now, but still. Ninety. Cents. For. One. Stalk. Of. Asparagus!

Crumbs, I think that’s it, I’ve caught up, just a couple of bits n bobs.

My three favourite colours together, red, black and yellow, they go so well together and these are the colours of the Johanna. I am so enjoying painting her.

Spotify is the best music app, ever.

I haven’t mentioned Drumpf. He’s a dick! I started to get bored and more than a little ticked off at his antics that I read on Facebook and said to Vanessa that I am thinking of unsubscribing from all the pages that give me information. Vee pulled me up and explained something that never occurred to me, if everyone gets fed up and decides to do the same, he has won, no one cares anymore and he’ll get away with everything he wants. I know I am no activist, but by sharing, angry face(ing?) and other stuff it helps to stop this madman getting away with murder (hmm?). I am truly shocked that this twunt hasn’t been kicked out of office yet, he met with the chinese president the other week and ended up with thirty five trademarks FOR HIS OWN COMPANY and his daughter got seventeen,  talk about conflict of interest. There is so much more but that should be enough to out him, who is he serving?? ETA, Since writing this there has been the corporate tax cut, hmmm.

Sickly Tarot

We have been watching the development of the Sickly Tarot for five years now and we were late to the party, it has taken nearly ten years to draw by hand, (only computers in post production). The other week we watched the final pen stroke and are ecstatic for Fred Sickly, what a brilliant achievement, I don’t know how many hours of work but easily over twenty thousand hours of work. We’ve just ordered our first copy and cannot wait to do a reading with it.

Cat tree

I am officially the captains mate, Vanessa passed her exams earlier in April, I am so happy for Vanessa, she was panicking about the exam and actually getting in a bit of a tizzy thinking it was going to be as hard as the (new) road driving tests.

2 thoughts on “Ketchup (part II).

  1. Great story! Congrats to Vanessa (now captain, I assume). Good Bowie cover, and I just love the cat tree. Also, thanks for reminding me not to get too anxious about our own house hunting. Things will work out as they should.

I love comments, give it to me, I can take it.

