All Good Things

Courtesy of Jean Pierre Noblecourt

Courtesy of Jean Pierre Noblecourt

Our small holiday on the cut is at an end, it didn’t go quite the way we expected power wise, too many cloudy days for the solar panels and problems with the batteries, but all is good and we know what to do and what to expect the next time. Neither Vanessa nor I wanted to come back in, as the new mooring will be our home for the winter (boo hoo), also, it was just so wonderfully peaceful out there. We could have stayed for a while longer, there really was no rush to get here, but we needed power, everything was dead (laptops, kindles, iPod, all these first world problems), and we’re really not supposed to let the boat batteries go flat. Also, with no fridge it was getting kind’ve hard to plan what to eat.

img_5968

We had to charge the battery at JP’s so that we could start the engine, we also had to confirm to JP that we were total novices, and that this is only the second time we have cruised the boat solo. It occurred to us over the weekend that when we came out onto the cut we moored up where we wanted, in other words where the boat stopped, this time we had a target to stop at, in between two boats. JP was there to guide us in, thank goodness that I now have above basic understanding of French and have half a clue what he is saying. I wasn’t sure of the first place he put us, there was a rock under water that I really didn’t like the look of, our hull would be too close for comfort. JP pulled us back and slotted us between two metal posts sticking out of the water, that seemed worse but we found some old fenders and put them over the top as protection, there is very little chance of touching them though as we are strapped in so tight.

Low flying weather balloon?

Low flying weather balloon?

Since writing that last, Jimmy the Scottish Sparky has been on board to check our batteries, it seems that we made a newbie mistake. We should be starting the engine every other day and let it run for half an hour to an hour to keep the batteries topped up when we are away from shore power. This doesn’t really sound like the self-sufficient boat that we are aiming for, but Jimmy says that is how it is at the moment. He’s coming around later for a couple of beers so I’ll bend his ear and see what can be done.

img_5964

The Alcyon painting job hasn’t started yet, so much for the big rush to get the boat ready so that his daughter, Orane can live in it while attending college in Dijon?¿! I’ll be chasing him up in a bit. In the mean time, Frank the man whose boat I cleaned last week came to our boat (while we were still on the cut, quite a walk) and personally thanked me for doing such a great job, honoured. He asked me to come around and change the engine oil on his boat today, he cannot get into the cramped quarters of his engine anymore. So, today I was paid to learn how to do something, I did say that I didn’t want paying but he wouldn’t hear of it. In a few weeks I have to go back and he’ll teach me how to winterise a boat.img_5976

Christian has gone, he left Wednesday, and he has some really good weather to get him quite far south. We’ll both miss him (and I’ll miss his seemingly bottomless tobacco pouch). We’ll probably meet up again next year, maybe, we have decided to make no plans for next year as, well we just don’t know what is happening. At the moment we are moored here for at least eight months.

img_5984

I had a lovely present this morning, one of the “kids” left me a dead mouse to wake up to. I presume Lara as I’m pretty sure that the thought of a present for me would have crossed Felix and Heidi’s minds, but the temptation to eat it would have been overwhelming. So, I was honoured again, nice. Where we are now there are about thirty ducks, thankfully quiet until after 8am which is a blessing, thing is though anything that goes into the water is considered theirs and they fly, jump or paddle (swiftly) to get to it. I decided to give Mr Mouse a burial in the canal, bleary eyed I opened the window and out he went, poor little mite had so much posthumous attention as thirty ducks all zoomed in to see what they were being treated with for breakfast, and worse, he floated.

img_5972

Our little space “away from it all”.

I love comments, give it to me, I can take it.

