A Fish out of Water

untitled1.jpg

This is the Adventurer, yeah she’s not in the water as we are having some work done, a new rudder, adjustment to the drive shaft, replace the cutlass bearings and a few other jobs. There is a whole slew of other stuff the boat yard said we needed doing, (18,000€ worth which was a definite brown trousers moment), but we don’t have the budget, and we’re not totally sure they need doing anyway. For example, they said the sliding (sun) roof needs a couple of thousand euros spent on it, we’ve been here five days now, opening and closing it to our hearts content, plus a huge (huge!) rainstorm, and just the teeniest dribble of water came through, the only problem being that it catches a little on opening and closing, easily sorted by lifting it a tad.

Anyway, blah blah, I am so not using this blog as a soap box, I have had a few inclement thoughts about this boat yard since we said “don’t do any work yet”, but they started anyway holding us over a barrel by saying that parts were broken and they’d have to charge to put them back and blah blah. Yeah, that’s it, just the good/funny stuff on here from here on out?¿!

image

Adventurer’s previous owners, P&B kept a file (actually it’s more like a large box), with all the on board equipment’s manuals, instructions, (and terrifyingly, all the invoices for all the equipment and work done, that’s some scary reading). I’m calming down a bit now, but initially, reading through stuff that I have no idea about, I panicked. Apart from a small panel in the bedroom that is the fuse box (kinda), most everything is different. I have no idea what to do if the inverter starts beeping*, and while that makes me sweat more than I care for in polite company, it also makes this brilliant. Let me digress a little, I have no fear of getting old, but sometimes I get uncomfortable with how I react to things (as a 48 year old) that not long ago I’d pass by without batting an eye-lid. It’s at these times that the irresponsible, (and frankly, irritating) 21 year old me stops by and says to quit worrying, what’s the fuss, what ever crops up we’ll deal with when it happens. I wonder about this philosophy, it seems a little care free but I can’t help but feel life was a little easier back then. I will read everything in the box so that I at least have a heads-up if something goes awry, but for the now I’ll try not to get tied up in the what ifs and remember that we are living a dream that we made come true, and as a friend said recently, if it was easy, everyone would be doing it.

image

*Actually I do on these points as we already encountered them at four o’clock this morning, I just didn’t want to think up new problems to be Jumanjied with.

3 thoughts on “A Fish out of Water

  1. Pingback: A Hull Lot of Scraping Going On | Beneath the Hat

  2. Great blog, Wish we had known about it some years back. To borrow a word known to friends of yours, “LIKE”
    Alan and Marion.

I love comments, give it to me, I can take it.

