DAY 6 23 MAY 2012

Navarrete to Santo Domingo de la Calzada (Saint Dominic of the Road) 38km.

A road munching day, I managed to walk from 6.30 to 2.30 covering 38 klicks, a brilliant day of sunshine and a cool breeze, really, it doesn’t get much better than this, the only down point was being charged 2.80€ for a loaf of bread and 2 apples, they don’t have to see us pilgrims coming, they know we are!!!

The walk turned into a bit of a race this afternoon, there were a half hundred or so people behind me today, bearing in mind that I seem to have chosen the busiest month to walk, and the other day I had to walk a long way extra to get a bed, so there was no way that this lot were going to overtake me. But these guys were relentless, they were slowly catching up, my average is 5kms an hour on the flat, but as I think I’ve said, on a hill I slow right down, and there was a hill in front, but they stopped and had lunch, woo hoo. It wouldn’t have mattered anyway, I am staying the night in a 226 bed Albergue wherein you donate what you think, or can afford. They have a vending machine that sells cans of San Miguel for 80 Centimos, nectar!

I spoke to someone the other day, they appeared out of nowhere (they being an American couple who were going to camp in a disused house, but the smell of dead animals was understandably too much for them) so we got talking and without even introductions I was regaled with a story of how they don’t get on with the rest of their family, and the bitterness that all of the arguments cause…. I said that I have to walk at my pace and left them behind. A bit harsh?? I seem to have a face that makes people want to tell me all of their shit. There is a time and place for banter like that, when I have my Tarot cards in front of me or a very large glass of alcohol, not when I’m dripping wet and walking the camino surely?¿!

I’m going to get a t-shirt made with “Better to remain silent and be thought a fool, than to speak and remove all doubt”. (Abraham Lincoln).

That’s enough for today.
Buen Camino x

 

— in Santo Domingo de la Calzada.

I love comments, give it to me, I can take it.

